Artist’s Loft Sketch Markers Review

While searching for a Prismacolor marker, I instead found these awesome Artist’s Loft Sketch Markers! I was originally planning to buy myself a set of gray scale Spectrum Noir markers at Joann’s, but then decided to head over to Michael’s and get a turquoise Prismacolor.  However, while I was at Michael’s, I was sidetracked by a set of Artist’s Loft markers I had never seen before.  They were priced at $20 for a set of six, which is more than the set of six Spectrum Noir markers for $15 at the Joann’s across the street.

I wasn’t sure if Artist’s Loft was worth it, since I had heard more about Spectrum Noir, but I decided to get them anyway because of my 50% off coupon.

If you’d like to buy some, you can purchase them here: Gray Sketch Markers by Artist’s Loft

photo 4.JPG

There are two different nibs, a brush nib and a chisel nib.  There is a dark grey stripe on the chiseled nib’s side, but it is not very noticeable and does not help me much in discerning which side is which while drawing.
photo 2

Here is a picture of the nibs up close.  You can see the dark grey on the chiseled nib’s side.

photo 3

There were six markers in the set.  Here is what they look like from above.  As you can see, the markers have a more triangular shape, which I find comfortable to hold.  The marker colors on paper matched closely with the plastic ends, but were a little darker.

photo 1.JPG

I tested the marker’s colors on this paper.

The N5 did not work at all for me.  When I first opened that marker, there seemed to be a little bit of dried ink or something on the chiseled nib.  I attempted to test it, but the ink did not flow freely.  I then tried the brush nib, but it was dried out and hard.  I was very disappointed, because I feel that N5 is an essential color for blending between the lighter and darker colors.

Despite this setback, I decided I wanted to try a drawing with these new markers.  The reason I got a grey set was so that I could draw more Toothless, of course!

I quickly drew and inked a drawing.

photo 1 - Copy

I only realized he’s not an anatomically correct Night Fury after I inked him, though.  The perspective’s off too.  He still looks okay, though.

photo 2 - Copy.JPG

I used every color in the set, minus the N5.  All performed very well for me.  For the prosthetic tail fin I used the Copics R22 Light Prawn and R24 Prawn.  For the green eyes I used YG13 Chartreuse.

I am very satisfied with these markers, and am glad that they are half the price of Copics.  They let out a good amount of color, but not so much that they bleed through to the page behind the one I’m drawing on.  They also blend pretty well, I think.  I’ll rate them 3.5 out of five.

Overall, I’m very happy with my new purchase!

Leave a Reply

