Drawing horses with colored pencils!

I’m pulling out my Prismacolors again!  My friend’s sister is having a birthday, and I was invited to come celebrate with her.  She loves horses, so what better present can I give than a drawing of her horse?   First, I decided to do a sort of test run, just to see how the drawing might turn out.

Finished horsey.jpg

This is a Friesian horse.  I quite like it, but the head is a little hard to make out.

I read that in order to create realistic blacks with colored pencils, you should, if the lighting is warm, layer on reds and browns, and if the lighting is cool, you should use blues.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

These are the pencils I used.  From top to bottom, they are listed in order.  I used a Staedler non-photo blue pencil, a Faber-Castell eraser pencil, a Black PC935, a PC 945 Sienna brown, an Indigo Blue PC 901, a Dark Brown PC 946, a Peach PC 939, and a Koh-I-Noor white colorless blender.

Next, I asked my friend T if he had any good pictures of his sister’s horse, Macho.  He sent two pictures.  One of them was the featured image, and the other this one.

Macho.png

I first tried this one.  Using my non-photo blue pencil, I sketch an outline.  FullSizeRender (6).jpg

Because I was in a moving vehicle at the time, it was very hard to get a clear image.

With the Indigo Blue, I color in the darkest parts of the horse, and some of the mid-range values.  I leave the highlights white.

IMG_0491.JPG

Starting on the horse’s left leg, I lightly lay down my Dark Brown.  On the lighter parts, I use Sienna Brown.  Then, I smooth it out using the colorless blender.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

I continue, using the same process on each of the legs.  On the hoofs, I use Peach and some Sienna Brown.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

All four legs are finished, and I am starting on the horse’s flank.  Or what I think is the flank.  I really have no idea.  Google is a very good friend.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Here is the finished drawing!  Now that I look at this image, I can see that the head is a little large and the neck too dark.  It’s too late to fix that though.  I blame the head size on myself, but there is a lengthy explanation for the neck’s darkness.  Also, the use of the colorless blender caused the horse to be burnished, and I do not prefer that look.

So I tried again.  Using the same pencils and coloring process, I began.

IMG_0501

Preliminary sketch with blue pencil.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I darken the horse a little more, then begin adding grass.

And this is the finished drawing!

Lillian's horse picture.jpg

This one, in my opinion, turned out much better than the other one.  I think I still prefer the sketch more, but this one is pretty good.

So, now I’m going to go see my friend’s sister, and give her my gift.  I hope she likes it!  Fingers crossed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

