Koh-I-Noor Tri-tone pencils

While at the store, I discovered these special pencils for a good price.  Let’s see how they work…

Here they are, out of the cardboard packaging but inside the tin travelling case.  In the pack I bought, there were 10 pencils, and one blender pencil.

photo-4-2

 

This is a picture of the pencils close up so you can see the small flecks in each core.  As you can see in the previous picture, there are three different colors in each pencil.

Each pencil core is encased in wood, and the ends of every pencil has a gold coating.

photo-3

From left to right, I tested each color in the order they were arranged in the tin.

The first squares display how the color appeared in a single layer, the second squares tell how it appeared when I pressed hard, and the third squares show how it looked when I layered the same color many times.

As I was doing it, I forgot the color ‘Evening Storm’ and had to put it in at the bottom.

photo-1

Finally, I just decided to do a quick test drawing with them, and I think it turned out well.  I enjoyed seeing how each stroke with the same pencil was different depending on which color was touching the paper.

photo 2.JPG

Overall, I’m satisfied with the performance of these pencils, and I will be using them in conjunction with my Prismacolor pencils.

I have learned that these pencils are oil-based, and are a little harder than wax-based ones, but I don’t think it’s a problem.

I hope that this review by an unqualified colored pencil “expert” will be able to help other “experts”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

