Paintings!

I’ve been admiring a picture for quite some time.  I’d show it to you, but it’s mysteriously disappeared from my files and I forgot the name.  It looks similar to this, only it was a digital painting.

photo 1 (2)

I used acrylic paint for Toothless, and watercolors for the rest.  It was done on watercolor paper, but the acrylic didn’t apply just how I wanted.  See all the little white dots on his wing?  Still, I like it.

I also did some concept art.  I didn’t invent it, I just heard that someone had done something like it.  I did not copy or use a reference, but I did do one thumbnail sketch.

photo 2

 

Once again, I used watercolor for the background and acrylic for the cross and plants.

What the images is supposed to be communicating is that by living in the shadow of the cross (by following Christ) brings life.  Notice how everything else is dismal and withered.  (Oooooh!) 

So anyway, I really like the background.  It looks dusty , but also like a fire. It reminds me of the cover of The Art of How to Train Your Dragon 2.

 9780062323354_p0_v3_s192x300

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

