Daily drawing: Painting with Friends

A few days ago, my friends and I had a painting party, where we all just sat sat in the garage on folding chairs around a brown folding table and painted with watercolors and acrylics on our folding table.

My friend L painted a glob with splats of different colors that were supposed to be us.  At first, I thought it was going to be a dragon, but then it turned out to be something else.   Black for me,  green representing vomit, purple for him, blue for D (she’s a girl), and another color for my sister.(He took it home before I could snap a pic.)

My sister painted a desert.  She calls it abstract, but I call it a desert.  There’s splotches of green on the tan ground, crows flying around like vultures… it’s a desert.  (I don’t think she wants me to post a picture of it.)

I drew a foal out of a calendar and then painted it.  Somewhere along the drawing/painting process, it became a horse since the proportions were more horsey than like a foal’s.  I painted clouds, but I don’t really like them there. I tried to make it more orangey so it would give the look of a horse basking in the sun, but then I ran out of orange.  I had to mix a lot to get the right colors because we only had the primaries, black, white and brown.  IMG_0821

 

My friend D painted a horse too.  Her reference also came out of that horse calendar.  She accidentally smeared the eye and had to redo it, but it turned out well in the end.

(The picture was upright, but the square feature turned it.  >.<)IMG_0820.JPG

And that’s what I spent my evening hours doing!  I had a lot of fun and enjoyed seeing L’s (ahem) interesting ideas.

Keep drawing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

