How to sketch: My opinion

This is my opinion on how to sketch correctly.  Before we get started,
let’s get something  straight.  I’m not going to tell you a bunch of things like:  always do this, don’t do that.  I’m simply going to give you a little advice:  never push hard on the pencil.  So, when you’re following a tutorial, for example, when they say, “lay down the guidelines”, don’t  push hard and make dark lines,  because guidelines do what their name suggests.  Yes.  It’s true.  They guide you.  That’s all. Then, you erase them.
If you’re like me, and are crazy about light lines, this advice probably doesn’t apply to you.  If so, you are allowed to stop reading now.  No, I’m not commanding you.  If you want, continue.

Here’s an example of the “light lines”  technique.  I am going to use Toothless the dragon from “How To Train Your Dragon” as my subject. IMG_0633.jpg

See how sketchy it is?  You can see  I’m crazy about lines.  I’ve been drawing for a while now, and it’s taken.. I don’t know.  I just started doing it.IMG_0635

Here, I continued developing it, and you can see the final “keeper” lines are darker.   As you can  see, in the left hand corner, the scratches on the left are an example of what you probably shouldn’t do (unless they’re final lines) and on the right are what you should use for sketchy guidelines. (you don’t have to get this sketchy; that’s just my style).  Even my dark lines are sketchy and not clean.  I just darkened them  by going over and over the lines.  (and maybe pushing a little bit harder)

Thank you for reading this!  I hope it helps you draw better and be able to erase mistakes.

One thought on “How to sketch: My opinion

Leave a Reply

